Species Recovery Trust

Home | The Species | Training | Training Resources | Who we are | Lost Life | Shop | Get Involved | Support | Contact

 

BOTANICAL AND ECOLOGICAL TRAINING COURSES 2018

The Species Recovery Trust runs a series of acclaimed training courses teaching a range of skills throughout the year and across the country.

One of our core remits is re-connecting people with the natural world around them and these courses aim to improve identification skills and understanding of ecosystems. By attending these not only will you get a chance to learn about nature with the country's top trainers, in stunning and surprising locations with like-minded people, but also financially support our species recovery programme.

Click on 'More Info' for detailed course info, times and directions. Any courses listed that do not say 'Fully Booked' still have spaces.

Read about what attendees have thought about our courses here!

Discounted rates are for Species Recovery Trust species supporters, and people who are registered unemployed and carrying out voluntary conservation work (if you're unsure drop us a line before booking). If you need to pay via company invoice please note there is a £10 admin charge for this.

Before booking please read our terms and conditions.Your booking will act as confirmation you have agreed to these.

2018 Training Courses and Events

DATE COURSE VENUE INFO PACK BOOK
May        
Tuesday 01/05/18 - Wednesday 02/05/18 Great Crested Newts - Ecology, Survey and Conservation Forest Green, Surrey MORE INFO

FULLY BOOKED
Tuesday 08/05/18 Early season/vegetative grass and sedge identification Old Sarum, Salisbury MORE INFO

FULLY BOOKED
Wednesday 9/05/18 Dormice - Ecology, Survey and Conservation Dorking, Surrey MORE INFO

Friday 18/05/18 Woodlands- Plant Identification and Survey Techniques Garston Woods, Dorset MORE INFO

Friday 18/05/18 Volunteer training - Surveying for Window-winged Caddis Flies

Whitmoor Common

MORE INFO Free! For info and booking, contact charlotte.carne@speciesrecoverytrust.org.uk
Tuesday 22/05/18 a.m.

Urban Plants- Recognition and Survey.

Joint event with nature vibezzz

Lambeth, London   Free morning session. For info and booking contact john.naturevibezzz@gmail.com
Wednesday 23/05/18 am Introduction to Flowers - halfday course Natural History Museum, London MORE INFO

Wednesday 23/05/18 pm Introduction to Grasses  - halfday course Natural History Museum, London MORE INFO

Wednesday 23/05/18 Volunteer training - Surveying for Window-winged Caddis Flies

Chobham Common

MORE INFO Free! For info and booking, contact charlotte.carne@speciesrecoverytrust.org.uk
Thursday 24/05/18 Sedge Identification Hartland Moor, Dorset MORE INFO

June        
Monday 11/06/18 Grasses and Sedges - Grasslands and Meadows Old Sarum and Figsbury Ring, Salisbury MORE INFO

Tuesday 12/06/18 Grasses, Sedges and Rushes - Heathlands and Bogs New Forest MORE INFO

Thursday 14/06/18 Bumblebees; ecology and identification Martin Down, Hampshire MORE INFO

Monday 18/06/18

Using indicator species for habitat assessment (Phase I and NVC) - Grasslands

Old Sarum and Avon Valley, Salisbury MORE INFO FULLY BOOKED
Tuesday 19/06/18 Using indicator species for habitat assessment (Phase I and NVC) - Heathlands, Bogs and Acid Grassland New Forest MORE INFO


Tuesday 26/06/18 Wildflower Identification - Grasslands and Meadows Old Sarum and Figsbury Ring, Salisbury MORE INFO

July        
Tuesday 03/07/18 Habitat Indicator Species - Acid and Neutral Grasslands Richmond Park, London MORE INFO

Thursday 05/07/18 Beaver Ecology and Conservation Lifton, Devon MORE INFO

Monday 9/07/18 Midsummer grass and sedge identification Old Sarum and Figsbury Ring, Salisbury MORE INFO

Thursday 12/07/18 Water Voles - Survey and Ecology Lifton, Devon MORE INFO

August        
Wednesday 01/08/18 Arable Plant Identification and Ecology Micheldever, Hampshire MORE INFO

Tuesday 14/08/18 Aquatic and River Plant ID Langford Lakes, Wiltshire MORE INFO FULLY BOOKED
Thursday 23/08/18 Aquatic and River Plant ID - NEW DATE Langford Lakes, Wiltshire MORE INFO

September        
Thursday 06/09/18 Late Season Grasses Old Sarum and Figsbury Ring, Wiltshire MORE INFO

Monday 10/09/2018 Heathlands - Plant ID, Vegetation Communities and Survey methods New Forest MORE INFO

Tuesday 11/09/2018 Forest of Eversley - Guided Wildlife Walk Fleet Info and Booking FREE
Wednesday 26/09/18 Marsh Clubmoss Volunteers Survey and Training Day Holt Heath, Dorset MORE INFO Attendance is free but booking is essential
To book, email:
bookings@speciesrecoverytrust.org.uk
October        
Tuesday 9/10/18 Identification of Sphagnum Mosses Wilverley Bog, New Forest MORE INFO

Thursday 11/10/18

Wildlife Crime and the Law

 

Richmond Park, London MORE INFO

Tuesday 16/10/2018 Common Mosses and Liverworts Charterhouse, Somerset MORE INFO


November        
Thursday 08/11/18 Assessing Trees for Bats Abinger Common, Surrey MORE INFO

December        
Tuesday 04/12/18

Winter Trees and shrubs identification

 

The Woodford Valley, Wiltshire MORE INFO

Thursday 06/12/18

Winter Trees and shrubs identification

 

Natural History Museum, London MORE INFO

Return to top

We would like to thank the Environment Job website and Countryside Jobs Service for advertising our courses. Their websites also contains a wide range of resources for those pursuing careers in the environment sector and we are proud to have them as partners.

CPD certificate download here